note to self…

Posted: March 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

checkout

Note to self…  I must learn to talk less about myself and to listen to others more.  The very friendly checkout girl today asked me If I had anything nice planned for tomorrrow – no, I don’t think she was trying to chat me up (I’m easily old enough to be her Dad) – rather she was referring to the fact that it’s Easter Sunday tomorrow and, of course, she will have a day off work, as the supermarket will be closed.

I answered her question as thoroughly as possible, but totally failed to respond to her with the same question.  With the exception that I’m looking forward to Easter Sunday morning church, it wasn’t as if anything I had to say about my plans for tomorrow was even vaguley interesting.  Maybe she had something on her mind that she was just dying to share and yet I didn’t give her that opportunity.  Maybe my own day would’ve been enriched by hearing what she would have shared and she would perhaps have had the joy of sharing something she was excited about.

Lord, please help me to be a better listener

Comments
  1. Derek Bond says:

    We’ve all been guilty of that sadly!

Leave a Reply

