how sweet the name

Posted: January 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear Name, the rock on which I build
My shield and hiding place
My never-failing treasury filled
With boundless stores of grace

Maybe it’s a sign of getting (just a bit) older, but old hymns from my childhood seem to very readily and unexpectedly come to mind these days. This one’s been on my mind for a little while now and I’ve used it a couple of times already when leading worship

The last two lines of the above verse, kind of sum up how filled with gratitude I am at the moment. And when I say “at the moment”, I don’t mean just at this particular second, minute or hour in time, but for a while now this has been my overwhelming emotion and thought. At this stage in our lives, Elaine and I feel so very blessed, both as we look back and look at the present and where God has brought us to. I’m discovering there’s nothing like learning to be content in Him

Incidentally, if you can, try to imagine the above to the tune of “Lloyd”. It’s surprised me how so few people are familiar with this tune – for me it’s the first one I think of to these words, but that’s probably because my Mum and Dad’s old church used to sing it to this tune and that’s where my memories lie

I’ve also added in my own refrain – hopefully before too long you’ll be able to hear that particular version on good old You Tube!

The writer of the lyrics is, of course, Joh Newton who also wrote Amazing Grace

“Weak is the effort of my heart
And cold my warmest thought
But When I see Thee as Thou art
I’ll praise Thee as I ought”

“I pray… that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you” Eph 1 v 18

John Newton1725-1807

John Newton
1725-1807

Leave a Reply

